Posted by: dollpaparazzi | May 16, 2011

Customerizer Spotlite Part II: Caroline Seales

Continued…

Do you paint/alter other types of dolls, and if so, how does that compare with working on BJDs? If you do other types of art (drawing, painting, etc) does that influence your faceup style?
I would like to work on other dolls but never had a chance to yet, in particular Blythe and Momoko dolls.
With my illustration work, it both influences and is influenced by my doll customization work. Painting portraits and figures has taught me what kind of colours go well, and doing faceups has given me a chance to study and handle all different kinds of face shapes and styles.

Have you ever refused a commission? Why? Or if not, can you think of a circumstance where you might?
I think I’ve only refused a commission simply for the reason that I had too many orders on the go, which is a nice position to be in!

Is there something that is still difficult for you to do? What is the most difficult?
Right at the end, applying the lashes can be quite a fiddly task! Especially for the really tiny dolls and also if the lashes are quite stiff and don’t want to curve along the eyelid.

How important is customer feedback to your creative process?
Very important, I enjoy keeping them involved at each stage of the process and their input keeps me on the right track!

Is there a mold, doll, or company that you prefer to work on?
The different kind of resin definitely affects how enjoyable it is to paint/mod them – I personally love painting Volks resin, and Unoas too. I like to mod Unoas the most but I haven’t have had the chance to mod any Volks dolls (yet!) I’d love to get my hands on an F-01!

Do you prefer working on male or female dolls? Why?
I do prefer working on female dolls, I like the feminine colours and pretty faces. And I like to make lips full pink and glossy which doesn’t always suit male dolls.

What is your background? Have you had any special schooling (art school, sculpture, painting, etc)?
I studied art throughout my GCSEs and A Levels, and then completed a degree in Illustration.

When you were a child did you ever work on dolls or create with similar things?
I used to always want to get one of those giant barbie heads that could be painted and styled – I did have some barbies who got some unfortunate haircuts!

Do you have any other interests that might have helped you in your development of customizing ABJD (like customizing other dolls, action figures, etc)? Please tell us about them.
I haven’t customised any other kinds of dolls yet, though I would love to do some custom work on a Blythe doll!

Do you have any other interests? Collections?
Photography is my other main hobby, I enjoy going for walks around the local countryside to take pictures. I also recently acquired a turntable so I’ve started collecting vinyl records, mainly by my favourite band the Cocteau Twins who are also from Scotland!

What factors do you consider before giving a doll its make-up so it will have the expression you want?
The shape of the sculpt is very important when it comes to expression – for example a prominent brow is difficult to paint if the expression the customers wants contradicts this, but also if the brow is too smooth then it can be a challenge to find the right placement.

Are there any painting techniques that can make a face look more masculine or feminine?
Besides the obvious ‘thicker eyebrows’ for males, colours and shading are important too. I tend to use a darker colour beneath the brow, and lighter blush around the cheeks for male sculpts. For females I use a reddish pink for blushing and paint longer lashes.

How long does it usually take to do a face-up (or custom alteration job)?
A single faceup for a customer usually takes about two weeks, I don’t like to rush the work and I also like to send progress pictures throughout the process which takes up time too.

Can you offer any helpful hints to the amateur face-up artists? Can you recommend a list of supplies including colors, paints & pastels etc?
Practice! There is no magic formula, no super special paintbrush that will paint thin lines for you – you just have to keep trying and learn as you go!
One tip I can think of which is quite important is to do everything in layers – don’t try to paint it all in one layer, to get a good colour I think it’s important to build it up gradually with MSC between.
As for supplies, I’ve tried out several brands but my favourite always boils down to the pastel and acrylic sets that Volks sell. The colours may look quite basic but it’s more effective to mix them yourself to get the shades and tones you want.

Do you have a favorite medium you like to work with when not creating for BJDs in your spare time?
I like doing pencil sketches, though recently I’ve been working more with watercolour and ink.

How long have you been doing face-ups/customizing BJDs?
I got my first doll around 5 years ago, and I’ve always painted my own dolls. I started painting ‘professionally’ about two years ago.

What is your biggest inspiration for your face-ups and customizations?
The dolls themselves! The faces may be blank, but the sculpts can be so beautiful and natural that they paint themselves.

Do you have any tips you’d like to share for people that want to learn how to do what you do or just want to improve? Something that’s helped you a lot or something that you think is important to know when doing a successful customization/face-up?
Learn how to handle your paintbrush, try out some different colours, and most important – keep practicing! Don’t be afraid to have a go.

Closing Comments (anything you’d like to tell us)?
Thank you for inviting me to take part, I’m really flattered that you like my work. I hope everyone enjoyed reading about my work!

I sure they did, Caroline. Thanks for sharing your talent and your words with us!


Leave a comment

Categories