Posted by: dollpaparazzi | December 20, 2010

Part II: Customizer Spotlite: Alewife

Part II of Alewife (Siduri) interview continues…

How many dolls do you have?
That’s sort of a fluid number. I have heads without bodies and bodies without heads, which makes it hard to count. I’ll say about 17 full dolls—two tinies, two MSD, and the rest SD and larger.

What do you like best about the BJD scene?
The diversity, both in the fans and the dolls. The fact that our common interest in BJDs can bring together people of all ages and backgrounds from all over the world.

What would you like to see in the future from companies?
I would love to see a full-figured female, and maybe a “full-figured” male too!

Have you ever experienced doll fandom first hand (i.e. been to any conventions, meet ups, etc)? If so, what are your impressions?
I went to the 2006 and 2007 conventions in Austin TX, and I belong to an active group in Colorado, COBJD. We are lucky in our local group. We have all ages, genders, and doll tastes playing happily together with no drama. I enjoyed the Austin conventions very much too. It was fun seeing dolls and people I only knew from the forums. And the shopping was wonderful!

What has collecting BJDs done for you (like to change your life, enhance your life, new friends, new experiences etc.)
I’ve met lovely real-life friends through the forums and groups, and done some things I never would have done otherwise (see next question, LOL).

What’s the most challenging photoshoot you’ve ever done?
A friend and I planned a photo story involving an archeological dig. We packed up five BJDs and a huge plastic container full of artifacts, props, tents, etc.—a complete archeology campsite. We drove two hours to Garden of the Gods in Colorado, and hiked the whole load to the top of a bluff to assemble our complex set. It was very windy, so we had to weight everything down with rocks and be ready to grab dolls that tried to dive off the cliff! The area was beautiful, though, and it was a lot of fun.

Do you have a favorite doll? What makes it special?
My Elfdoll Soah, Xara, shares the honors with my Elfdoll Wu, Shiwan Khan. Both of them have strong personalities and are members of the family.

What are your favorite doll trends right now? Least favorite?
I like the trend toward realism, more flexible jointing, and interchangeable faceplates. The various monthly fantasy dolls have been very creative and innovative. I don’t like that the realistic male dolls are getting taller and taller, although that trend seems to be reversing lately.

Do you fit your doll to the character or the character to the doll?
I don’t go doll shopping with a character in mind, but if a doll takes my fancy, I do consider what its role will be in relation to my other dolls.

How do your friends and family feel about your hobby?
My 91-year-old mother is fascinated by the BJDs and likes me to bring them to visit. One of my sisters collects fashion dolls. The other sister doesn’t collect herself, but she’s a genius at finding props and things for me to buy.

What kind of reaction would you like people to have from your dolls/ photos, etc?
I like to make them smile.

What’s your biggest strength & biggest weakness as a collector/ photographer/ etc?
When I first started photographing BJDs, my photos were pretty miserable. I’m trying to improve, but I’d still rather have someone else take the photos!

How would you describe your personal doll aesthetic? What do you like most about your own dolls and what makes them “yours” and you? Do you send your dolls out to be customized, or do you do it yourself?
If you were a stranger looking at my collection, you would think I have a fashion doll aesthetic. The dolls are fairly Muggle in appearance and dress. I do have a love of fantasy, but for some reason it’s not showing in my doll collection!

I do my own customizing. Only a few of my BJDs still have their factory faceups. I’ve taken the Cotton Swab of Doom to the rest of them.

How would your life be different if you didn’t have dolls?
I would have a lot more space, a lot more money, and a lot fewer friends.

Were you a collector of other things besides dolls before you got into the hobby? What started you off with BJDs?
I used to collect vinyl fashion dolls, including CEDs. The CEDs are jointed and customizable, so that led to the vinyl Obitsus, and from there to the resin BJDs. The first BJDs I was strongly attracted to were Elfdoll Ryung and Soah.

Would you rather make doll accessories (clothes, wigs, props, jewelry ect) or pay for someone else to do it?
I feel terribly guilty if I don’t sew, because I have a huge stash of fabric. It’s definitely more fun to buy readymade, though!

Favorite Doll company?
Elfdoll, followed by DIM.

Favorite color of resin: Tan, Beauty white or regular skin? Do you like the more fantasy color resins on dolls for your collection (pinks, blues, greens, grays, etc)? Opinions?
I love the fantasy colored resin even though I don’t own any yet. However, my favorite resin color for the guys is tan.

Favorite size doll 60 cm, minis or tinies?
The 60-67cm range. Tinies never seem to stay, for some reason. I like the scale of the big dolls, and they’re much easier to sew for.

What’s your most sought after doll prop that you can’t find?
Oriental-style furniture in the right scale. That I can afford.

What is your “dream doll” that you hope to own some day?
It keeps changing! The companies are so creative.

What’s your favorite doll released in the last year? What is your favorite ‘classic’ BJD?
My recent favorite is Souldoll’s four-armed gray Shiva. My favorite classic BJD is Elfdoll Soah.

What are your favorite brands of wigs/ eyes/ shoes/ clothes?
I never met a BJD accessory I didn’t like!

What advice would you give someone new to the hobby?
Join several forums, research and ask questions. Avoid people who tell you there is a “right way” and “wrong way” to collect BJDs. Follow your heart!

Where do you keep or store your dolls?
They sit or stand around my bedroom. I tend to forget to change their clothes, so they’ll be wearing shorts in December or sweaters in July.

How do you relate to you dolls (are they art objects, toys, things, friends, muses, soul mates, investments, etc)?
They are art objects I can play with. They’re also muses, in that they fuel many of my creative pursuits.

Compared to when you got into BJDs, have you/your tastes changed, has the BJD scene changed?
I don’t think my tastes have changed much—I’ve always gravitated toward the more mature-looking sculpts and fashions—but the BJD makers are offering more and more choices. When I started collecting, the Elfdolls were the most mature and realistic sculpts out there (in my opinion, anyway). Now there are many companies making the kinds of BJDs I like. The other big change is how easy it is to buy BJDs now. More temptation, easier access—maybe this isn’t a good combination, LOL!

Is there a doll that you never, ever would sell, only if it was unavoidable?
My Elfdoll Soah, Xara, and my Elfdoll Wu, Shiwan Khan.

When you want a certain BJD, is there a limit to what you’re willing to spend/do to get it?
I would have to think long and hard before I spent more than $700 or so, not because the dolls aren’t worth it, but because it would be a blow to my budget.

Thanks and Happy Holidays Alewide/Siduri!


Leave a comment

Categories